Enough and more.

Having been thoroughly washed and rewashed with soap water, the fruits and vegetables on the table wink at me looking squeaky clean. There is enough of them to last me for quite a few days.The breakfast on the table also is enough and more because I still can’t seem to remember that my maid isn’t coming and does not need breakfast. Yes, the food that has been cooked leisurely with a sense of gratitude is also enough and more!

Why gratitude now? Because I know now that it was an act of courage on the part of the person who ventured out to buy it. Every trip out results in a good ten minutes of getting ready with masks and gloves and sanitizers before leaving and a good ten minutes of scrubbing and cleaning and sanitizing everything including the articles bought and the person, once he is back .

We thus try to minimize such trips outside and our definition of “essentials” changes in the process. That’s why the simple dosa and chutney downed with a hot cup of creamy coffee, tastes much better than the dosas I have eaten out at Sangeetha or A2 B. Suddenly I realize that everything in my life is enough just as it is ,right where I am- home.

Opening my cupboard, I stare at the neatly piled up clothes. They have remained this way this past month. No hurried hands have grabbed at a salwar top and bottom and searched frantically for the matching duppatta. They have remained , untouched for more than 40 days now that I am working from home! No need to go out and buy some more. I have more than enough for now.

Yes. It has always been like this for most of us and we are getting along just fine with all we have. Having spent more than a month at home with enough for our needs, we realize that we have always had more than we could use .

We sure have had enough of the virus but ironically it took that invisible virus to show us that we have always had enough and more!

 

Leave a comment